Culture of Inquiry

Welcome to the Culture of Inquiry website. This site describes the Lewis University Faculty Scholar and Caterpillar Scholar Awards, how to apply for these Awards, and the review process used to evaluate applications. Any questions should be referred to Dr. Mallory Havens, Chair of the Culture of Inquiry Coordinating Committee.

The Lewis University Faculty Scholar Award provides three credit hours of reassignment time for one semester.

The Caterpillar Scholar Award provides up to $ 6,000 for The purchase of supplies, equipment, or to purchase reassignment time for projects in the STEM areas (Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics). This award is designated for one academic year.
  • Up to ten Faculty Scholar reassignment awards may be provided per year. Five awards are provided for the fall semester and five awards for the spring semester.
  • One Caterpillar Scholar Award may be awarded per year.
  • All full-time faculty at Lewis University are eligible to apply.
Faculty Scholar and Caterpillar Scholar Application Timeline; 2019/2020 Awards.
  • Letters of intent due: September 3, 2018
  • Invited proposals due: November 5, 2018
  • Funding decisions communicated: December 2018